top of page

Moonlit Wake & Land of Lost Tears

I finished these two New-Age tunes in the second half of 2018. Both were very old projects reaching back to my beginnings of music producing in my teens.


The first version of Land of Lost Tears was the first tune I ever made with FL Studio at an age of fourteen. Back then, I proudly presented it to my favourite music forum, to my family and – in a presentation for music lesson – even to my school class. I did an elaborate rework three years later but was not happy with it at all, feeling unable to make it sound the way I imagined it (or even to put my finger on what was bothering me). It took me several more attempts and a few more years of experience to bring the magic under control (not to mention the terrible pain of working on a 14 year old project...). Inspired by Klaus Doldinger and, in the 2018 version, Frank Steiner.



The idea from Moonlit Wake was from 2006. I always liked it and used to open it ~once a year to change some things, but at a point always stopped because of technical or artistical difficulties. Investing in a new computer finally allowed me to progress and, after 12 years, to finish it :) It was quite fun to start with these old, plain motifs and imagine some interpretations with my current melodic approach. Inspiration came, back in these days, from the music of Amethystium, which is a lifelong love for me.



The titles both refer to the story I was writing then. It was about a sorceress living alone in a distant world of cliffs and shimmering pools together with the magical beings she created. One day she awoke with an urgent feeling of missing something, trying to figure out was it was. Unable to overcome her growing sadness, she created a bird that would travel to other worlds, hoping to find an answer there. I wonder if she did.


Voici some short samples of the old versions / sketches:



-----


I took a break from music producing during the last 2 years. It was my first long break ever and it was related to starting my handpan journey / profession (which took 90% of my energy), but also the need to adapt some life parameters, like getting away from the screen and changing to a less digital, more sensual way of life. However I was never really gone. I deeply love this activity and knew I would, maybe with a new vision / approach, come back to it when the time is right.

And this time has come. I picked up some tunes left behind in 2017 which I'm trying to finish at the moment. It's still somewhat difficult to make the time and space for it next to work (especially with starting a blog and a game design project at the same time), but life stays interesting :) and things are, step by step, progressing on all levels. One of the tunes I'm working on is a third piece related to the two mentioned above, which is on my want-to-rework list since many years. Looking forward to share it with you :)


Sophie

bottom of page